Teddy Midnight Releases Debut LP – Velvet Blue

Words By Balarama Warner
Published September 7, 2016

Teddy Midnight has had a busy year. The Brooklyn jamtronica ensemble has been hard at work touring the Northeast, making festival appearances, and working on their debut LP, Velvet Blue. The band has shared stages with several high profile jam bands including Kung Fu, Pidgeons Playing Ping Pong, and Twiddle. They recently performed a powerful hometown headlining set at the Brooklyn Bowl.

Teddy MidnightVelvet Blue, recorded at Telefunken Elektroakustik Studios, is a rhythmically driven balance of pulsating electronica and catchy hooks. The album consists of eight original tracks mainly composed by Silva, while “Veni Veni Veni” and “Tree-O-Tree” were written by Adam Magnan. “Bend” and “Blue Dreams” were written by guitarist Wiley Griffin.

Drummer Adam Magnan and bassist Sean Silva lay down a rhythmic tapestry throughout the album which creates the canvas for keyboard player Sean McAuley and guitarist Wiley Griffin. Colorful synthesizer and guitar leads interplay with the rhythms to take the listener on a unique musical journey.

Founding member Sean Silva is quoted, “We wanted to capture the sound of the new lineup, encompassing the personalities and musical tastes of all of us. We knew the diversity would be hard to capture, and the best way to do that was to be fully involved with every step of the process.”

A record release party for Velvet Blue is slated for October 1, 2016 at BRYAC in Bridgeport, CT.

Check out the album available now via SoundCloud.

Velvet Blue Track List:
1. Velvet Mist
2. Turkish Silva
3. Veni Veni Veni
4. Popo Jijo
5. Tree-O-Tree
6. Boner Vista Social Club
7. Bend
8. Blue Dreams

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *